RangerBoard
 
Go Back   RangerBoard > Administration > Announcements
Register Rules/FAQ VIP Membership Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 9th, 2017, 05:46 PM   #1261
ricecake
Last Watched: PRTF Ep. 18
 
ricecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 878
eBay
For me, it's not AdBlock (I don't use AdBlock per se, but I do use NoScript), but HTTPS Everywhere. If I disable the rule for viglink.com in HTTPS Everywhere, then they work for me again too.
ricecake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2017, 11:13 PM   #1262
Poweranimals
Raptor Power
 
Poweranimals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 33,990
I'm having the same issue but I can't even find AdBlock in order to change the settings. It used to show up at the bottom of the browser but it seems to be hidden now. Update: Okay, I found AdBlock and added viglink.com to the list but it's still happening (even if I turn off AdBlock completely).

Last edited by Poweranimals; January 9th, 2017 at 11:39 PM.
Poweranimals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2017, 11:44 PM   #1263
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
Poweranimals wrote: View Post

I'm having the same issue but I can't even find AdBlock in order to change the settings. It used to show up at the bottom of the browser but it seems to be hidden now. Update: Okay, I found AdBlock and added viglink.com to the list but it's still happening (even if I turn off AdBlock completely).
Do you have NoScript? If so you need to allow it on there too.
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2017, 05:02 PM   #1264
Roboboard
It ain't nothing but love
 
Roboboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,476
Re edit. Just became a VIP2 member. How do I change colour of my name plus my name itself?

Last edited by Roboboard; January 25th, 2017 at 05:17 PM.
Roboboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2017, 05:49 PM   #1265
Ankh Primo
R.I.P: Resides In Playboy
 
Ankh Primo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 66,276
super samurai wrote: View Post

Just became a VIP2 member. How do I change colour of my name plus my name itself?
http://www.RangerBoard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27
Ankh Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2017, 06:10 PM   #1266
Roboboard
It ain't nothing but love
 
Roboboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,476
Thanks pal! I made one thread for both requests to avoid spam. Sorry if that was the wrong thing to do but it just seemed logical especially since both are first time requests.
Roboboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:15 PM   #1267
Fyntabulous
The One You Love to Hate
 
Fyntabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16,253
Decade wrote: View Post

Okay, I've replicated this error.

Ad Block does its own updates on what it blocks, and of course it can be manually controlled. I cannot control your adblock, so this is something you guys will have to fix on your end.

Unblock this item on AdBlock: http://cdn.viglink.com/api/vglnk.js, create a rule to allow everything from viglink.com period - and it will be resolved.
I don't have adblock enabled and this still occurs for me. My DNS isn't the problem either. So I'm confused as fuck.
Fyntabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:19 PM   #1268
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
Myzou wrote: View Post

I don't have adblock enabled and this still occurs for me. My DNS isn't the problem either. So I'm confused as fuck.
Someone else has mentioned (can't remember if it's this thread or the Simple Questions), that it can be caused by a different ad-blocking plugin.

I also found that it can be interrupted by NoScript.

So the bottom line is, it's caused by a specific plugin on the user end. You'll have to troubleshoot on your own to figure that one out because I don't know what you have installed. AdBlock is the most common and the only one I knew of so I only tested with that.

Troubleshoot by: ensuring all ad-block plugins are disabled for RangerBoard.com, if it's still an issue, disable 1 plugin a time until it works. Or disable all plugins first, to see if it works. If it does, begin enabling each plugin one at a time, and see if it stops working.

That's how you will identify which plugin is causing it.
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:27 PM   #1269
Fyntabulous
The One You Love to Hate
 
Fyntabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16,253
I even entered Firefox Safe Mode. (this disables all addons)

The problem still persists.

DNS isn't an issue, I flushed it, even tried changing it. I had no problem with links yesterday.

Only addons I even have on my browser are ublock/origin, magic actions for youtube, xmarks, and stylish.
Fyntabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:27 PM   #1270
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
How about on Chrome?
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:29 PM   #1271
Fyntabulous
The One You Love to Hate
 
Fyntabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16,253
I can't run chrome on my computer. Too much of a resource hog, it pretty much freezes my comp.
Fyntabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:33 PM   #1272
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
They're both resource hogs. I sent you a PM.
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:50 PM   #1273
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
Myzou's has been fixed. I remoted to his PC and did a flushdns command, cleared the cache only via Firefox's clear history, and used the CTRL + F5 as well.

As in my experience, the cache clearing may not register with Firefox sometimes unless you do both. But that seems to have fixed it.

The browser needed to be restarted too.
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2017, 03:10 PM   #1274
Fyntabulous
The One You Love to Hate
 
Fyntabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16,253
He totes snooped around all my personal folders while remoting too. Yep.

Lol, just kidding. Thanks Decade. Still weird the cache clearing doesn't always register unless you do it that way though.
Fyntabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 10:24 AM   #1275
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
It's rather odd, I've began experiencing the same issues and I have everything white listed.

So I performed the same cache clearing on my system, and it seems to resolve it. Perhaps VigLink updated their code and the old cache data is causing conflicts.
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 09:08 PM   #1276
ViRGE
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,242
Just throwing myself into the pile of people having link issues. This is on Edge, so no extensions or other things are getting in the way. It's very intermittent though; most of the time the Viglink script rewrites URLs just fine, and then every now and then it fails.
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 09:26 PM   #1277
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
ViRGE wrote: View Post

Just throwing myself into the pile of people having link issues. This is on Edge, so no extensions or other things are getting in the way. It's very intermittent though; most of the time the Viglink script rewrites URLs just fine, and then every now and then it fails.
Have you tried cache clearing and rebooting browser/PC?
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 09:58 PM   #1278
ViRGE
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,242
Decade wrote: View Post

Have you tried cache clearing and rebooting browser/PC?
Yes, I have.
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 10:11 PM   #1279
ϟDecade
FINAL KAMEN ATTACK FORM RIDE: OWNER
 
Decade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,658
1
Is it working fine now or is it still an issue?
Decade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2017, 11:34 PM   #1280
ViRGE
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,242
Decade wrote: View Post

Is it working fine now or is it still an issue?
It's still being neurotic. I can reload one time and it's fine, another time it will be screwed up.

As best as I can tell, something is going wrong with the Viglink script. It's not throwing any errors, but it's also not consistently doing its job of rewriting URLs. Calls to api.viglink.com are not failing, so the browser is fetching (or at least, capable of fetching) the data it needs.
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.